You’re Cool, Amy Schumer and Kim Caramele. We love your sisterly love and comedic talents.

We’re talking about sisterhood for the entire month of August. For this installment of “You’re Cool,” the weekly feature in which we highlight amazing emerging talents who inspire us to dream bigger and do better, we’re featuring charming, hilarious sisters Amy Schumer and Kim Caramele. 

It’s no secret that here at BYOM, we love Amy Schumer. We love the way she fearlessly expresses herself, actively questions norms, and stands for a strong, modern femininity.  But this month, we want to bring special attention to the amazing relationship she and her sister share.

Screenshot 2015-08-13 20.17.37

Schumer has always been vocal about their relationship, and the value that they place on one another. Since they work together closely (Kim is a producer on both Inside Amy Schumer and their recent movie, Trainwreck), it comes up a lot. Schumer has even described Trainwreck as a love letter to her sister.

In this spirit, we’re going to share a few choice quotes from Amy and Kim about their sisterhood and what they mean to each other. Sisterhood is such a powerful, singular thing, and we love that Amy and Kim so deeply respect it and each other.

“I am a great friend and an even better sister.”

In a 2014 speech at the Gloria Awards and Gala, Schumer spoke about coming to terms with her identity, self-love and healthy connections. After sharing a bad romantic experience and how it forced her to reassess her priorities, she said: “Now I feel strong and beautiful. I walk proudly down the streets of Manhattan. The people I love, love me. I make the funniest people in the country laugh, and they are my friends. I am a great friend and an even better sister. I have fought my way through harsh criticism and death threats for speaking my mind. I am alive, like the strong women in this room before me. I am a hot-blooded fighter and I am fearless.”

amy-schumer-kim-caramele-1

“She’s always made everything I’ve done better.”

In an interview with NPR’s Fresh Air while promoting Trainwreck, Schumer explained how their relationship hasn’t always been sunshine and rainbows. “I’ve been making my sister watch me hurt myself for so long,” she said. “That must have been so hard for her, so I just wanted to apologize and let her know that things were going to change.”

That said, they’ve always stuck by each other. “She’s the funniest person I know,” Schumer added. “She’s always made everything I’ve done better.

“Amy’s good at taking the painful things for what they are and focusing on the good.”

A recent interview with the L.A. Times showed just how close the sisters are. It also made it very clear that they fully love and support each other, despite being distinctly different. This is true even and especially through some of the hardest parts of being a family – like having a sick father.

amy-schumer-kim-caramele-2

“I barely go to visit him, and Amy goes a lot,” Kim said in the interview. “Amy’s good at taking the painful things for what they are and focusing on the good, and I can’t shake the painful stuff.

“From that day on, we’ve been crazy close.”

Aren’t they just incredible?

+ Know any other amazing sisters? Tell us about them and we may feature them next week!
Share Your Thoughts

