Q+A with Robin Eisenberg, Graphic Artist, Designer + Feminist Space Queen

If you’re unfamiliar with Robin Eisenberg‘s work, it’s best summed up as “a weird neon dream about alien babes, junk food, solitude, and space.” Needless to say, her work is otherwordly, occupying a space where women (albeit alien women) are front-and-center, Star Trek fashion dominates the runways, and junk food can be consumed guilt-free.

Her work, with its bold neon colors reminiscent of 90s icon Lisa Frank and its loving embrace of cult icons like the X-Files’ Scully and Mulder, is in a class alone. Just like Robin, it has irreverence, confidence and attitude. Like many of our Muses, Robin is a hustler and supports herself through her art and design. That means rad pins, patches, keychains, skateboard decks, and so much more! 

Without further ado, we’re thrilled to introduce the space queen herself, Robin Eisenberg!

The Basics

  • Age: 32
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA
  • Education: I went to San Diego State, started off studying jazz piano, then switched to English. Spent most of my time drawing in class instead of taking notes, haha.
  • Field of Interest: Illustration, design, bubble tea, Star Trek
  • What’s Your Favorite Thing About Yourself? I am easily excited about life and I’m not afraid to reinvent myself.
  • What Inspired You Today? New pens in the mail!
  • What Are You Currently Reading and/or Listening To? Reading a friend’s first novel which is so cool! Feeling super nostalgic and listening to a lot of early Tori Amos.
  • Are You Working On Any Projects That You’re Really Excited About? Yes! I’m looking into starting a (small) clothing line which is exciting!

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 12.32.29 PM

 

Questions + Answers

Your aesthetic seems influenced by many different eras, from the 50s to now. How does your work draw from pop culture, and how does it reframe it?

I was obsessed with my mom’s photos from the 60s and 70s as a kid and I also grew up in the 80s and 90s, when there were some pretty rad and iconic things happening in pop culture. I was also very influenced by Star Trek fashion.

I’m able to express all those styles in my art which is really fun. I also like combining imaginary alien lifestyles with the trends of today. Mixing space suits and cybernetic hands with pizza dresses and biker jackets. Stuff like that.

robin_pins

On that note, how would you describe your style to someone who has never seen your work?

A weird neon dream about alien babes, junk food, solitude, and space.

girls

Your interests are quite varied, and we love it! How do your other passions and your hometown of Los Angeles influence your artwork?

I think all the things I’m passionate about definitely influence my artwork, whether it’s food, space, music, or exploration (space and Earth both included). As I experience new things I get new ideas for drawings and come up with new concepts for projects.

As far as LA – one of the things I love about it here is that you are constantly finding places and whole neighborhoods that you’ve never explored. It’s always surprising me. I want that from my work, too.

weekendplans

Your willingness and ability to reinvent yourself is so neat. What role, if any, do these “reinventions” play in your life?

Thank you! I think any reinvention is mainly just motivated by the fact that I don’t ever want to be bored of my own work. If I start to get restless or sick of the same colors, I try to challenge myself and do something at least a little different. If I’m not excited by it, then how will anyone else be excited?

transformation

A constant throughout every phase has probably been that I draw a lot of women and have always loved drawing them. You see probably one guy for every hundred gals.

mermaid_babes

You mentioned that you studied English in college, after initially starting out studying the piano. Both music training and literature seem to be so serious and regulated, whereas your art is so fun, bold, and almost irreverent. How does the tradition of your former pursuits contrast with (or even balance) the tongue-in-cheek, satirical nature of your work?

I actually started off studying jazz piano, which was really fun! (I love classical music but am horrible at sight-reading). I think literature and music (in whatever form) are not so far removed from drawing – they’re all forms of expression that can temporarily remove you from your everyday headspace. I think what originally drew me to music and writing was the same thing that eventually resulted in me being a full-time artist.

robin

What did your journey from doodling in class to “doodling” full-time as a career look like? Throughout the journey, what was your lowest low and how did you bounce back?

It took me a long time to find my own style and figure out how to use color and linework in a way that best expressed what I was imagining in my head.

Also, I think for a while I was pretty intimidated by the idea of trying to make drawing a full-time job. When I first started off, I was taking really awful Craigslist jobs that would pay $10 for an illustration that would take me 2 days, haha. But, slowly, I’ve gotten more confident with myself and have stopped undervaluing my own work. That feels really good.

pizzamoon

Who inspires you?

So many people and for so many reasons!! But a few off the top of my head would be:

Sara M Lyons – @saramlyons

had a nice time drawing and chatting w these two talented angels @robineisenberg and @lillipore today 👯

A post shared by SARA M. LYONS (@saramlyons) on

Lauren Kop of @minibearbeats

Sarah Wearer – @ms_wearer

Samantha Kuntz of @shopwhurl

Bri Luna of @thehoodwitch

+ DO YOU DIG ROBIN’S WORK AS MUCH AS WE DO? FOLLOW ALONG ON INSTA, TWITTER + TUMBLR AND SHOP HER COLLECTION!

Share Your Thoughts

